Book Review: Inner Demons by Robert Ford

Inner Demons is a wonderful collection that features 4 novellas, each of which is unique and memorable. These stories had all of my favorite elements—unforgettable characters, laugh-out-loud humor, and heartfelt moments.


THE LAST FIREFLY OF SUMMER was a moving tale of love and revenge. This was a perfect starting point, drawing me into the pages and making me tear up a time or two.

RING OF FIRE was an action packed and hilarious adventure, with scenes and characters I’ll likely never forget.

BORDERTOWN was very fun as well, and possibly the most unsettling tale for me. It’s a tie between this one and the first in the collection for my favorite.

Last, but certainly not least, we have BIG STAKES JACKIE. This story grabbed my attention and never let go, up until the end (at which point I’m pretty sure my jaw was slightly agape).

Aside from the amazing stories, this collection contains author notes, which I absolutely love. Meeting and interacting with authors has deepened my reading experience, and having author notes for each novella is icing on the cake.

I also can’t stop myself from raving about the other aspects that make this entire package a true gem. Thunderstorm books put together a visually stunning piece. (Have you seen those end papers?) I think that other readers will marvel at this collection, from the gorgeous cover to the foreword from Matt Hayward, through Bob’s wonderful words that will be savored to the end. If you can get your hands on this book, you will not be disappointed!

5/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s